Active Topics - Guidelines
 
 FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile  Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages  Log inLog in  Archive Directory
VIRUS WARNING

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Dance Forums Forum Index -> General Dance Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pr
Assistant Admin


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 1033
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:00 pm    Post subject: VIRUS WARNING Reply with quote

Links to sites that contain virus or adware have been posted on this site lately... [color=red]Do not download anything from sites similar to[/color]

allpetawilson.info (strCodec)
allkellymggillis.info (softcodec)
allkimbasinger.info (vidcodec)
funnyvidssite.org (mmcodec)
funnyjokevidsite.org (mmcodec)
funnyvidsworld.org (mmcodec)
theportmantopless.org (mmcodec)
thefunnyvids.org (mmcodec)
allmariahcarey.info/ (mmcodec)
funnypicsvidworld.org (mmcodec)

because it contains [color=red]virus or adware!!![/color] Evil or Very Mad

These sites contain something that looks like a video and then it asks you to download a (so called) codec. It is this "codec" that contains the virus or adware...

I have banned their IP's and also an email domain but they came back...


Last edited by pr on Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:37 pm; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SDsalsaguy
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 486
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the heads up pr! Most appreciated! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pr
Assistant Admin


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 1033
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Added funnyvidssite.org, because someone registered at my forum with an email address containg that domain. The site looks excatly the same as the above virus/adware sites... Mad IP has been banned... Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pr
Assistant Admin


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 1033
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did a search on the internet and found many more sites with virus/adware...
funnyjokevidsite.org (mmcodec)
funnyvidsworld.org (mmcodec)
theportmantopless.org (mmcodec)
thefunnyvids.org (mmcodec)
allmariahcarey.info/ (mmcodec)
funnypicsvidworld.org (mmcodec)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jimmykaboots



Joined: 29 Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Location: Central Alberta

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the heads up, will stay away from those!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
pr
Assistant Admin


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 1033
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're welcome! Smile More and more sites came all the time so I stopped to update this thread. Rolling Eyes The important thing to remember is [b]If you see something that look like a movie window and it asks you to download a codec, keep in mind that it could be a virus.[/b]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sarah820w



Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:08 am    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

Thanks for the heads up on these. You just never know some times what your getting into. I have been to what seem some pretty normal sites and my system catches a virus from them...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jumpit007



Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 1
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just so you know, I have been getting PMs telling me to clink on a link (dating site, virus check software, ect), and I am assuming those are viruses aswell, since I don't know the people.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Old Dancer



Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Location: Uk

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been getting pm s too with links to what i presume are virus sites.

By the way I know I haven't been on the site for a while as my dancing has been on hold while I found a new class as my teacher moved towns and left us in the lurch. It wasn't her fault she had to move with her main job and tried to find someone to take us on but no one came forward. I have been trying to keep going on my own. Found a tap class after trying 2 which weren't suitable, but no ballet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Dance Forums Forum Index -> General Dance Talk All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum